Prix de Lausanne 2024 Young Creation Award 2024 winners

Prix de Lausanne 2024 Young Creation Award 2024 winners
PDL 2024

LAUSANNE For the second time, the Prix de Lausanne presented an entire evening dedicated to choreographic projects created with young students from its partner schools. This evening, two young choreographers received the Young Creation Award for their respective original choreographies, presented to the Jury and the public at the Théâtre de Beaulieu. The evening ended with a public rehearsal of the Partner School Choreographic Project, which allowed the public to discover the piece by choreographer Kinsun Chan, and the 25 young dancers participating in the project. The creation will be shown during the Prix de Lausanne Finals’ Interlude on Saturday, February 3.

The winners of the Young Creation Award 2024

55 young choreographers (31 girls and 24 boys) from the 19 Prix de Lausanne partner schools applied for this fourth edition of the Young Creation Award. After a video selection of the choreographies proposed by the young choreographers, five of them were chosen to come to Lausanne to perfect the coaching and finalization of their creation under the supervision of professionals. The five finalists presented their original creations this evening, danced by a student from their school. The aim of this choreographic competition, which runs in parallel with the Prix de Lausanne, is not only to stimulate choreographic creation, but also to introduce young dancers to the art of coaching with a view to a career in choreography.

The two winners of the 2024 edition are:

  • Quinn BATES (USA) with his variation "Groovin'", danced by Miguel Artur Alves Oliveira (School of the Hamburg Ballet John Neumeier). Music: 'Clean Cut' from Bonkers Beat Club.
  • Kseniya KOSAVA (Belarus) with her variation "Under glass", danced by Sakura Natorigawa (Palucca University of Dance Dresden). Music : '23' from Sebastian Oswald.

The two winning choreographies will be included in the contemporary repertoire of the Prix de Lausanne 2025. Their two choreographers will be invited to the next Prix de Lausanne to coach the candidates who choose to perform them.

© All rights reserved


Take a look at...